Thursday, June 2, 2011

The Spanish Foreign Legion

There's really not a Spanish Foreign Legion in the way there's a French Foreign Legion, but joining the Spanish Legion another way to another country. However, most Americans will not qualify. It's only open to the citizens of the following former Spanish colonies in Central and South America:
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Costa Rica
  • Colombia
  • Chile
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Dominican Republic
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
Since Spain stopped requiring military service of their citizens, it turns out their citizens weren't keen to serve in the military. To make up for the shortfall, the Legion began opening its doors to foreigners. However, a valid residence permit in Spain is required. You can read more information (in Spanish) here.

1 comment:

  1. You do not have the first clue about what you are saying.
    A (British) former Legionario.